Skip to main content

Basic Facts

Geography and location

Uganda, commonly known as the ‘Pearl of Africa,’ lies astride the Equator. From North to South, it is located between latitudes 4°12' N and 1°29' S. From West to East, it lies between longitudes 29°34' E and 35°0' E.

It covers an area of 241,038 square kilometers, of which about a third is covered by fresh water bodies and wetlands. It is mainly a plateau astride the equator, with favorable tropical climate and average temperature ranging from 18 to 28 degrees centigrade. (Source: Vision 2040)

Located in Eastern Africa, Uganda is a landlocked country, bordered by: Kenya to the East, South Sudan to the North, Democratic Republic of the Congo to the West, Rwanda to the Southwest and Tanzania in the South. The south-eastern part of the country is covered by a substantial portion of Lake Victoria, which is shared – at varying portions – with Kenya and Tanzania.

In addition to Lake Victoria (the second largest fresh water lake in the world), Uganda is the source of River Nile – the longest freshwater river n the world, covering a distance of 6650 kms. Other major physical and geographic features include: the snow-capped Rwenzori Mountain ranges in Western Uganda; and Mountain Elgon in the East. At 4,000km², Mt. Elgon has the largest volcanic base in the world, and is the oldest and largest solitary, volcanic mountain in East Africa

Uganda attained her Independence from British colonial rule on      9th October, 1962.

Capital City

Other Cities
Mbarara, Gulu, Jinja, Fort Portal, Masaka, Lira, Soroti, Hoima (UBoS)

Population: 43.7 Million (UBoS: 2022 projections)